Liberals on the Ohio State School Board are trying to eliminate American Government and History testing in Ohio.​

The State School Board will meet on Sept. 18th and 19th (2017) (YES, that is tomorrow and the day after!) to consider a proposal urging the Ohio Legislature to eliminate the required end-of-course testing in American Government and History. Six years ago, we were able to get a law passed for the Founding of America Documents curriculum, which guarantees that all 88 counties’ school districts teach the founding documents, namely the U.S. Constitution, Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Federalist and Anti-Federalist papers, Northwest Ordinance and the Ohio Constitution in grades 8 – 12 with an end-of-course exam.

At least one of the 19 State School Board members has tried to make the argument that by doing this, the state is returning control back to the local school systems. While that may, or may not be true, what is more to the point, if the American Government and History standards are not tested, how many teachers will teach this critical information to their students? Everyone knows that the teachers teach to the test. No test, no teaching of the foundational principles of America.

Please take some time to email or call the members of the State School board using the information provided below. 

Essentially, we need to communicate “We urge you to vote NO on the proposal to do away with American Government high school end-of-course assessment.”

State School Board of Ohio Members (19):

Tess Elshoff            ElshoffTess@education.ohio.gov             419-753-2583 (President)

Nancy Hollister      nancy.hollister@education.ohio.gov       740-373-6523 (V. Pres.)

Linda Haycock       linda.haycock@education.ohio.gov         419-979-6438

Kathleen McGervey     kathleen.mcgervey@education.ohio.gov      440-669-0780

Charlotte McGuire        charlotte.mcguire@education.ohio.gov       937-287-3603

Pat Bruns                 pat.bruns@education.ohio.gov                513-310-8953

Lisa Woods              lisa.woods@education.ohio.gov               330-410-6733

Antoinette Miranda      antoinette.miranda@education.ohio.gov      614-292-5909

Sarah Fowler           sarah.fowler@education.ohio.gov            440-563-8535

Stephanie Dodd      stephanie.dodd@education.ohio.gov       740-629-1333

Nick Owens             nick.owens@education.ohio.gov               513-706-2634

Meryl Johnson       meryl.johnson@education.ohio.gov          216-561-1396

Joseph Farmer       joe.farmer@education.ohio.gov                 740-862-8649

Cathye Flory           cathie.flory@education.ohio.gov                740-603-6365

Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings     rebecca.vazquez-skillings@education.ohio.gov          614-256-9317

Martha Manchester     martha.manchester@education.ohio.gov     419-303-2672

Eric Poklar              eric.poklar@education.ohio.gov                  614-519-5526

Laura Kohler          laura.kohler@education.ohio.gov                614-425-0183

Kara Morgan          kara.morgan@education.ohio.gov               202-297-4555

See the resolution here that Board members will be voting on at their meeting Monday or Tuesday.​

See the letter here that Chris Long, President of Ohio Christian Alliance, wrote to the State School Board members.
Thank you,
Kirsten Hill
President
Ohio Liberty Coalition